The Tale of Princess Kaguya: Nursery Rhyme

February 20, 2015 at 8:25 pm 3 comments

The Tale of Princess Kaguya
From The Tale of Princess Kaguya
By Isao Takahata, Japan, 2013, 137 min

“Warabe Uta” (Nursery Rhyme)
Lyrics by Isao Takahata and Riko Sakaguchi
Music by Isao Takahata

Translated to English

Round, round, go round, Waterwheel, go round
Go round, and call Mr. Sun
Go round, and call Mr. Sun
Birds, bugs, beasts, grass, trees, flowers
Bring spring and summer, fall and winter
Bring spring and summer, fall and winter

Round, round, go round, Waterwheel, go round
Go round, and call Mr. Sun
Go round, and call Mr. Sun
Birds, bugs, beasts, grass, trees, flowers
Bring Spring and Summer, Fall and Winter
Bring Spring and Summer, Fall and Winter
Birds, bugs, beasts, grass, trees, flowers

Kaguya’s Extension: “Tennyo no Uta” (Song of the Heavenly Maiden)
Lyrics, Music and Performed by Kazumi Nikaido

Go round, come round, come round, O distant time
Come round, call back my heart
Come round, call back my heart
Birds, bugs, beasts, grass, trees, flowers
Teach me how to feel
If I hear that you pine for me, I will return to you

C I T I N E R A R I E S | MOVIE NIGHT: The Tale of Princess Kaguya

Entry filed under: .animals, .bird, .bugs, .en, .fall, .flowers, .grass, .ja, .nursery_rhyme, .rhymes, .seasons, .spring, .summer, .sun, .translation, .tree, .winter, Isao Takahata, Kazumi Nikaido, Nursery Rhyme, Riko Sakaguchi, Song of the Heavenly Maiden, Tennyo no Uta, The Tale of Princess Kaguya, Warabe Uta. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Beautiful Boy Le Conte de la Peincesse Kaguya: La Chanson des enfants

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Freda Yoshioka  |  May 3, 2015 at 11:09 pm

    Thank you for this page of lyrics–I really appreciate it. Very nice assortment and thorough! I think there is a typo in Kaguya’s Extension. In the voice version, she says “teach people how to feel” (not teach “me” how to feel).

    Reply
  • […] If I hear that you pine for me, I will return to you (link here) […]

    Reply
  • 3. Dipti Yugal  |  February 1, 2016 at 5:11 am

    Kaguya’s Extension of the song is heart touching. It makes me sing along whenever I listen to the song. The lyrics of the song are simple and all arranged beautifully to convey the meaning of life and world with all her aspects. Thank you for the lyrics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


